No Chaos No Order

March 23, 2013

Conquering the chaos of my food, one meal at a time: snack 1

Filed under: health — fairyguts @ 6:43 pm

I have won my struggle with a healthy snack that both Robin and I can eat! Yay!

Smoothies. They’re easy, no big deal, all over the internet. But, for me to be successful with this, I have to freeze the yogurt in portions. Using my muffin tin which holds 1/2 cup when filled to the top, I line it with clear wrap, spoon in plain yogurt, and then freeze them.  Once frozen, I take them out of the tin and clear wrap and put them into a freezer bag.

2013-03-20 18.01.41

Each day, when I take out two frozen cookies for breakfast (oops, I didn’t tell you about them yet!), I take a yogurt puck out and put it into my blender. In a few hours, it’s thawed and ready for smoothies!

2013-03-20 18.05.12

My smoothies usually are:

1/2 c 2% fat plain greek yogurt (usually the non-fat version has more carbs and less protein)
1 banana
1 T flaxseed meal
1/2 c 2% milk
1/2 c frozen blueberries

cals 416.3 fat 8.89g  carbs 73.12g  fiber 10g sugar 45.12g protein 19.22

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

